Website URL : http://wsx-donnington-pc.gov.uk/index.cfm?articleid=21398

Free Christmas park and ride service in Chichester starts this weekend

Introduction

For the first year, the free park and ride service for visitors, shoppers and commuters will operate in Chichester on the five Saturdays and Sundays leading up to Christmas, starting on 24 November 2012. It will also run on Christmas Eve.


The bus shuttle will run from 8am - 6pm, with the last bus leaving West Street at 6pm. It will start from Chichester College car park at Westgate and run to the city centre every 15 minutes. Drop off and pick up points will be:

·       Eastgate (opposite the Cattle Market car park);

·       Northgate (lay by in Oaklands Way); and,

·       the Cathedral in West Street, before returning to the college car park.

The service will operate on:

·       Saturday 24 November (up until 8pm for the lights switch on);

·       Sunday 25 November;

·       Saturday 1 December;

·       Sunday 2 December;

·       Saturday 8 December;

·       Sunday 9 December;

·       Saturday 15 December;

·       Sunday 16 December;

·       Saturday 22 December;

·       Sunday 23 December; and,

·       Monday 24 December.

The initiative is being organised and funded by Chichester District Council, and supported by Chichester Chamber of Commerce & Industry and Chichester College.

The information is being released as part of the council's 'Countdown to Christmas' campaign. Its aim is to help residents prepare for the festive season - from events and activities, to important information. This can be found at www.chichester.gov.uk/christmas